Home > Christian school teacher > What does God require?

What does God require?

Micah 6:8 He has showed you, O man, what is good.
And what does the LORD require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
and to walk humbly with your God.
A new student walked into my room today. A challenge right from the start. We teachers know a child is going to be tougher than average when he or she immediately is challenging us. Most kids will have a honeymoon period of a few weeks before they begin showing their facets. Not so with ‘Joe’. Across the room was ‘Martin’, a boy whom I taught last year, not without challenges too, but whom I developed a bond with. Martin was with us last year until trouble forced him out of our school. A while later he was shot by a rival. (That rival, another former student of mine, later got shot along with another of my students)

Martin showed up at school again this year, shouldn’t have been admitted because of last years troubles, but somehow was admitted. Today in class I was giving a few last minute study moments for a test. Martin was hard at it. Out of the blue Joe was yelling at him, cussing, challenging him, threatening him. I herded him out the door. Martin kept his cool.  Joe’s agitated state worsened as security arrived just in the nick of time. The security folks wanted Martin to go to our school disciplinarian. He was pleading to stay in class as he was prepared for the test, but off he went.

10 minutes later a student showed up from the office with a drop slip for Martin. I was stunned. Martin had done everything right in my view. I didn’t want Martin to be kicked out of school again.  I feared for him and Joe. Will Martin try to get revenge on Joe for this? Will Joe try to continue the feud out on the streets somewhere?

I went to the office after school to act for justice for Martin. In my view, and I confirmed this with several other students, Martin really had done nothing wrong in that classroom. I pray he’ll receive justice and be let back in school. It may be the last chance he has.

  1. Susie
    August 27, 2010 at 1:43 am

    I’ll pray with you for Justice for Martin!

  2. August 27, 2010 at 2:06 am

    Thanks Susie.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

