Home > Christian school teacher > Is your eye good?

Is your eye good?

There’s an interesting little word study from God’s Word. Jesus’ Sermon on the Amount, uh, Mount has a very familiar section in it regarding money. Most are quite familiar with this it, and the Cliff’s notes version says God will provide for you, so don’t worry about money. Don’t be greedy, but be generous. Seek God and all these things will be added to you.

Right in the middle of the passage is something I’ve never really taken the time to understand, thus, it’s been confusing to me. Again in the middle of a passage about money reads this: Matthew 6:22 “Your eye is a lamp that provides light for your body. When your eye is good, your whole body is filled with light.”

Why a verse like this in the middle of a passage about money? The word good is about money. Huh? It is from a Greek word, the only time it’s used in the NT. The Greek word is ‘haplous’. It is translated as clear, single, healthy, or good in all the different versions.

What’s it got to do with money? Haplous has a Greek opposite. It is translated ‘bad eye’ in Matthew 6:23. “But if your eyes are bad, your whole body will be full of darkness.” The bad eye here refers to covetousness. What is the opposite of covetousness? Generosity of course. Generosity is easy, doesn’t even need a comment beyond what II Corinthians 9:11 says: “Yes, you will be enriched in every way so that you can always be generous. And when we take your gifts to those who need them, they will thank God.”

A good eye is a generous eye. Is your eye good?

(For those needing a closer look at the haplous explanation go here:
http://www.bible-history.com/isbe/S/SINGLE,+EYE/)
An additional resource is to listen Timothy Keller on I-tunes. The thoughts for today’s blog came from a message called “Treasure vs. Money”

  1. waynehennie@gmail.com
    April 2, 2011 at 11:55 pm

    and what is my motivation for giving ? Is it out of a feeling of resignation and obligation.. ” Oh.. ok.. get out the calculator and figure 10% EXACTLY !!”.. or out of knowing that EVERYTHING material that I have momentary control over really belongs to Him.. it’s ALL God’s anyways.. so sure.. take what ever you need from me.. and not only my treasure.. but my time and talents as well..
    He loaned me his Breath of Life today.. so I look for what he wants me to do with it everyday.. and that includes dollars as well..
    And WHAT a priviledge to be able to serve Him while I’m here on Earth.. cause when I’m in Heaven..there will be no more opportunities to serve Him here. I get no more chances to witness for Him in heaven.. so I do it while I can.. with a cheerful heart.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

