Home > Christian school teacher > Black History isn’t just for blacks.

Black History isn’t just for blacks.

While teaching Bible at Desire Street Academy I developed a series of lessons that I called “Famous African American Christians”. Approximately every Wednesday I would teach a lesson and help the students discover African Americans who became well known for many things, and who primarily gave glory to God for who they were. Some in the series are well known, others are not so much but who through a little research I ‘discovered’.

Why embark on a series such as this? Mainly because I love telling stories about people whose faith can inspire us all. A second reason is to educate people about some Christians who in my humble opinion people should know about. A third reason is that I pray that these stories will help break down barriers that still exist between those who worship primarily in racially divided churches.

You may use these stories for family devotions, for dorm discussions, for work discussions, for carpool discussions, at your Sunday School classes, youth groups, bowling league, at the barber, stylist, I don’t know, tell these stories! They’re interesting, fun, tragic, sad, inspiring.

Finally, if you have a suggestion for someone, send me a note, comment here, give me a phone call. I’ll do the research, writing, etc. I’m a teacher, it’s what I do, I enjoy it.

Check back Wednesday, I’ll have my first post. I’m not sure if I’ll produce one of these every day, but most days I’ll try.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

